Skip to content


      Five nurses have been honoured with the President’s Award for Nurses this year, the highest accolade in Singapore’s nursing profession. This brings the total number of recipients since the inception of the award in 2000 to 77. 

2.    This national award recognises nurses who have shown sustained outstanding performance and contributions to patient care delivery, education, research and administration. 

3.    The award is open to all registered nurses from healthcare institutions in the public, private, and community care sectors, as well as the educational institutions. Nurses are nominated by their institutions, public or peers, and interviewed by a panel chaired by Dr Chia Shi-Lu.

4.    This year’s award recipients include two from acute hospitals, and one each from hospice, national speciality centre and community nursing settings. Of the five recipients, two are Advanced Practice Nurses.

5.    The five recipients are: 

– Ms Chin Soh Mun

Director of Nursing, Dover Park Hospice

– Dr Alice Chua Foong Sin

Assistant Director of Nursing, Advanced Practice Nurse, National Cancer Centre Singapore

– Ms Kala D/O Narayanasamy 
Deputy Director of Nursing, Woodlands Health Campus

– Ms Tay Yee Kian
Assistant Director of Nursing, Advanced Practice Nurse, Regional Health System Office, National University Health System 

– Ms Patricia Yong Yueh Li
Deputy Director of Nursing, Singapore General Hospital

7.    Each awardee received a trophy, a certificate signed by President and a $10,000 cash prize that can be used for their professional and personal development. More information on the award recipients is in the Annex

21 JULY 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *