Skip to content


      Three nurses were conferred the President’s Award for Nurses this year. They received their award from President Halimah Yacob at an award ceremony and reception held at the Istana this afternoon. This brings the total number of recipients since the inception of the award in 2000 to 93.


2.     The highest accolade in Singapore’s nursing profession, the President’s Award for Nurses recognises nurses who have shown sustained outstanding performance and contributions to patient care delivery, education, research and administration.


3.     This year’s award recipients are:


·       Dr Hoi Shu Yin

Chief Nurse, Tan Tock Seng Hospital


·       Dr Loh Huey Peng

Director of Nursing, Singapore National Eye Centre


·       Ms Pauline Tan Chwee Khim

Deputy Director of Nursing, The National Kidney Foundation


4.     Each awardee received a trophy, a certificate signed by President Halimah Yacob and a $10,000 cash prize that can be used for their professional and personal development. More information on the award recipients is in the Annex.


5.     The national award is open to nurses and midwives from healthcare institutions in the public, private, and community care sectors, as well as the educational institutions. The nominees are nominated by their institutions, public or peers, and interviewed by a panel chaired by Dr Tan Wu Meng, Chairman of the Health Government Parliamentary Committee.




28 JULY 2023


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *