Skip to content


        Seven nurses were conferred the President’s Award for Nurses this year. They received their award from President Halimah Yacob at a virtual award ceremony this afternoon. This brings the total number of recipients since the inception of the award in 2000 to 84. 

2.     The highest accolade in Singapore’s nursing profession, the President’s Award for Nurses recognises nurses who have shown sustained outstanding performance and contributions to patient care delivery, education, research and administration.

3.     This year’s award recipients include five from acute hospitals and one from primary care setting, as well as a nursing educator. Of the seven recipients, two are Advanced Practice Nurses.

4.     The seven recipients are: 

  • Dr Huang Fang
    Assistant Director of Nursing, Advanced Practice Nurse, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital
  • Ms Margaret Lee Kwee Hiang
    Chief Nurse, Alexandra Hospital 
  • Ms Katherine Leong Shiao Pheng
    Assistant Director of Nursing, Nursing Administration, Advanced Practice Nurse, Khoo Teck Puat – National University Children’s Medical Institute
    National University Hospital
  • Ms Christina Lim Poh Ying
    Chief Nurse, Sengkang General Hospital
  • Ms Lim Voon Hooi
    Chief Nurse, National Healthcare Group Polyclinics
  • Dr Shefaly Shorey
    Assistant Professor, Alice Lee Centre for Nursing Studies (NUS Nursing), Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore 
  • Mr Christopher Soh Kok Keng
    Assistant Director of Nursing, Emergency Medicine Department and Emergency Department, Tan Tock Seng Hospital

5.     Each awardee received a trophy, a certificate signed by President Halimah Yacob and a $10,000 cash prize that can be used for their professional and personal development. More information on the award recipients is in the Annex

6.     The national award is open to all registered nurses from healthcare institutions in the public, private, and community care sectors, as well as the educational institutions. Nurses are nominated by their institutions, public or peers, and interviewed by a panel chaired by Dr Tan Wu Meng, Chairman of Health Government Parliamentary Committee.

7.     The virtual award ceremony today was held in recognition of both 2021 and 2020 award recipients’ contributions to Singapore’s healthcare. Due to COVID-19 pandemic, the physical reception for President’s Award for Nurses had been cancelled last year. 

14 JULY 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *